For the Conservation Curious

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side January 6, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — newdomino @ 2:00 PM

Any time I say that line I think of a song lyric from the band Travis. The lead singer talks about, “The grass is always greener on the other side. Neighbor’s got a new car that you want to drive… We all live under the same sky, we all will live, we all will die. There is no wrong, there is no right, the circle only has one side.” At least I think that’s how the song goes. I’m always a bit hesitant to write down lyrics as our ears may hear something that isn’t quite there. But you get the gist.

I think of this line today, writing as I am from my new home in Virginia, thinking back to the past two years worth of complaining and annoyance at my life. I wasn’t happy with my job or my social life or where things seemed to be headed, yet am I any better off now? Is the grass truly greener in Virginia?

The weather is nicer, certainly, on the whole. While my friends in Pennsylvania were huddled inside over the weekend I sat out on my back porch, enjoying the unseasonably warm weather and sunshine. The climate it much better for growing grapes, and hence, numerous good wineries to enjoy. There are forests, rolling hills, beautiful horse farms, the beach not too far away, rivers to kayak in, and other outdoor amenities. Not that Pennsylvania didn’t have most of those things, but the newness of the surroundings here makes them feel a bit more special for some reason. The chance to explore new territory is thrilling… I can see why so many explorers left their homes, knowing they faced grave dangers, just to see new places and experience new things. I can’t discover a brand new world, but I can see something unique to me.

Is everything peachy-keen in my brave, new world? No, not yet, at least. Uprooting your life after a decade in one place is no picnic. But I’m trying to stay positive and see what is so wonderful about the move, rather than focus on what may be lacking. If only more people could hone in on that mindset.

This morning an HVAC guy came to my house to check on the furnace. Before he left we talked about living in Virginia and moving long distances by yourself. He said his anxiety is too great; he would never be able to do something like that. I felt bad for him. Here is an adult who feels trapped in his life (in a place he openly admitted to hating) because he is too afraid of the unknown. To me the unknown is something to relish. Here’s to more unknowns and surprises in the new year.

 

Leave a Reply

